Wednesday, March 6, 2013

McDonalds French Fries Ingredients

WARNING: McDonald's French Fries do include dairy and wheat (or gluten) so you have are avoiding dairy or wheat you do NOT want to eat McDonald's French Fries.

I went to McDonald's website to find the ingredients in the fries to see if they changed and they were not listed. I emailed McDonalds and this is their response:

Hello Jeanette:

Thank you for taking the time to contact McDonald's for ingredient and allergen information.

To obtain the most up-to-date ingredient and allergen information for McDonald's standard menu items, visit the website at Available allergen information will always be listed on the menu item's ingredient statement.

Here is the ingredient and allergen information for our french fries:

Potatoes, vegetable oil (canola oil, hydrogenated soybean oil, natural beef flavor [wheat and milk derivatives]*, citric acid [preservative]), dextrose, sodium acid pyrophosphate (maintain color), salt. Prepared in vegetable oil (Canola oil, corn oil, soybean oil, hydrogenated soybean oil with TBHQ and citric acid added to preserve freshness). Dimethylpolysiloxane added as an antifoaming agent.


*(Natural beef flavor contains hydrolyzed wheat and hydrolyzed milk as starting ingredients).

McDonald's has worked with the Food Allergy and Anaphylaxis Network (FAAN) to help consolidate all allergen information within our ingredient statements. The FAAN encourages customers with food allergies to regularly read ingredient statements because ingredients may have changed. Again, McDonald's recommends you visit the website,, for the most current information about our products. We also recommend that you speak with your health care provider if the information you are seeking cannot be found on our website or printed materials.

McDonald's has provided nutrition information on our menu items for more than 35 years. One of our goals is to provide accurate and accessible nutrition information to our customers by providing a clear, consistent approach to communicating nutrition information. Today, customers can obtain nutrition information on our standard core products through a variety of sources:
McDonald's trayliners
McDonald's Nutrition Facts Brochures
Toll-Free Number -- 1-800-244-8227
McDonald's Packaging
Mobile Application
Our Menu Boards

Again, thank you for taking the time to contact McDonald's and we look forward to serving you again soon.

McDonald's Customer Response Center

Also, do you see the ingredient: Beef. YES!! That is beef so if you are a vegetarian you may also want to avoid McDonalds Fries.

I may have wrote this on my blog before but I tell people and they had no clue so I thought it was important to write again. I'm NOT lovin' it!

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

In Canada, my son is able to eat McDonald's fries as it doesn't contain wheat or dairy in their ingredients on this side of the border. It was very hard to explain to him (5yo) that when we went on a trip to NY that he couldn't eat McD fries there.